IPL 2024 Purple Cap update: Varun Chakravarthy rises to third as KKR run through SRH batting in Qualifier 1 | Ipl News

IPL 2024 Most Wickets, Purple Cap Holder: Kolkata Knight Riders’ Varun Chakravarthy snapped two wickets to overtake Arshdeep Singh for the third spot in the most wickets tally of IPL 2024. Chakravarthy now has 20 scalps from 13 outings this season.

Still on top of the tally is Punjab Kings’ Harshal Patel. Patel snapped up a couple of wickets against Sunrisers Hyderabad on Sunday and extended his lead over Jasprit Bumrah in the Purple Cap race. The 2022 Purple Cap winner is now the holder of the Cap with 24 scalps in 14 matches but his team is now out of competition as is Bumrah’s, who also has 20 wickets from 13 games.

Chennai Super Kings bowler Tushar Deshpande did not have the best of times in the must-win game against Royal Challengers Bengaluru on Saturday giving away 49 runs from 4 overs but he still managed to break into the Top 5 of the Purple cap race with 1 wicket.

IPL 2024 Purple Cap table updated today

No. Player M Ins Ovs Runs Wkts BBI Avg Econ SR 4w/5w
1 14 14 49.0 477 24 15/3 19.87 9.73 12.25 0/0
2 13 13 51.5 336 20 21/5 16.80 6.48 15.55 0/1
3. 13 13 48.0 393 20 16/3 19.65 8.18 14.40 0/0
4. 14 14 50.2 505 19 29/4 26.57 10.03 15.89 1/0

Tushar Deshpande

13 13 48.0 424 17 27/4 24.94 8.83 16.94 1/0

Every year when the Indian Premier League (IPL) season comes around, a lot of eyes are on the players who take the most number of wickets in the season, thereby getting the Purple Cap. These players, more often than not go on to represent their national teams in future tournaments like the T20 World Cup. Players also add to their value for the next season if they have a great campaign in the IPL. In the 2023 season, Gujarat Titans’ Mohammed Shami won the Purple Cap with 28 wickets in 17 matches. He was followed by his teammate Mohit Sharma with 27 scalps in 14 matches. At number 3 came Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan, also of the GT with 27 wickets in 17 matches and he was trailed by Mumbai Indians’ Piyush Chawla who took 22 wickets in 16 games. Rounding off the top 5 list was RR’s Chahal with 21 wickets in 14 matches. There has no change in the table after the clash between Gujarat Titans vs Chennai Super Kings.

Here’s a list of past Purple Cap winners

IPL 2023 Purple Cap Winner: Mohammed Shami

Total Wickets: 28 | Team: Gujarat Titans

Festive offer

IPL 2022 Purple Cap Winner: Yuzvendra Chahal

Total Wickets: 27 | Team: Rajasthan Royals

IPL 2021 Purple Cap Winner: Harshal Patel

Total Wickets: 32 | Team: Royal Challengers Bangalore

IPL 2020 Purple Cap Winner: Kagiso Rabada

Total Wickets: 30 | Team: Delhi Capitals

IPL 2019 Purple Cap Winner: Imran Tahir

Total Wickets: 26 | Team: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2018 Purple Cap Winner: Andrew Tye

Total Wickets: 24 | Team: Punjab Kings

IPL 2017 Purple Cap Winner: Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Total Wickets: 26 | Team: Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2016 Purple Cap Winner: Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Total Wickets: 23 | Team: Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2015 Purple Cap Winner: Dwayne Bravo

Total Wickets: 26 | Team: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2014 Purple Cap Winner: Mohit Sharma

Total Wickets: 23 | Team: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2013 Purple Cap Winner: Dwayne Bravo

Total Wickets: 32 | Team: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2012 Purple Cap Winner: Morne Morkel

Total Wickets: 25 | Team: Delhi Daredevils

IPL 2011 Purple Cap Winner: Lasith Malinga

Total Wickets: 28 | Team: Mumbai Indians

IPL 2010 Purple Cap Winner: Pragyan Ojha

Total Wickets: 21 | Team: Deccan Chargers

IPL 2009 Purple Cap Winner: RP Singh

Total Wickets: 23 | Team: Deccan Chargers

IPL 2008 Purple Cap Winner: Sohail Tanvir

Total Wickets: 22 | Team: Rajasthan Royals

Get latest updates on IPL 2024 from IPL Points Table to Teams, Schedule, Most Runs and Most Wickets along with live score updates for all matches. Also get Sports news and more cricket updates.

Source link

Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Keep Up to Date with the Most Important News

By pressing the Subscribe button, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use